Call today for a Free Consultation 321-253-4200

A friendly reminder about the helmet law in Florida

Motorcycle Helmet Exemption

Who is eligible?

Only those individuals who are:

  • 21 years of age or older and
  • covered by an insurance policy providing at least $10,000 in medical benefits
When did the law take effect?

The law went into effect on July 1, 2000.

What proof of insurance is required?

The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is advising law enforcement to accept a health insurance card (or actual policy or declarations page) from a HMO or Blue Cross/Blue Shield or some other recognized health insurance provider as proof. The card must show current insurance.

In addition, limited motorcycle medical coverage will also suffice. Contact your insurance carrier for more information. However, PIP coverage under a personal passenger vehicle policy would be insufficient for either the operator or passenger on the motorcycle.

Can I get stopped by law enforcement just for not wearing a helmet?

Like Florida’s seat belt law, The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicle has determined that enforcement for this provision of law should be secondary. That is, an officer should not initiate a traffic stop only to determine if a person has insurance coverage. However, a trooper or other law enforcement officer may stop a motorcycle operator or passenger riding without a helmet based on reasonable suspicion the operator or rider is under 21. A law enforcement officer should not stop someone riding a motorcycle without a helmet only to check his or her age.